Pipe Organs at Christ Church

The Craighead-Saunders Organ

The Craighead-Saunders Organ in Christ Church, Rochester is named after David Craighead and Russell Saunders, the two venerable professors of organ at the Eastman School of Music.

Your Browser does not support HTML 5 Audio

  Sonata I by Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809-1847) Performed by David Higgs on the Craighead-Saunders Organ.


The two-manual, 33-stop organ is a result of a six-year international research project that studied and documented the techniques and processes of eighteenth-century organ building. The result: a scientific reconstruction of the organ from 1776 built by Adam Gottlob Casparini for the Holy Ghost Church in Vilnius, Lithuania. This instrument represents a Baltic-North European style from the height of Enlightenment- Era Europe, and it will open up new perspectives on the music of Bach, his sons and his pupils for organ students and organ-lovers in North America. The instrument itself is only one result of a global heritage project that began with the thorough scientific documentation of the original organ in 1999. The magnificent Casparini organ is one of the best-preserved baroque organs in Europe, but was badly in need of restoration. In cooperation with GOArt, the Göteborg Organ Art Center in Sweden, the work on the research copy has been in constant dialog with the restoration throughout the process of building. An international reference group of organ builders was formed for this project including five of the foremost American builders working in this style (Steven Dieck, Paul Fritts, Bruce Fowkes, Martin Pasi, and George Taylor), the organ builders and instrument researchers at GOArt (led by Mats Arvidsson, Joel Speerstra, and Munetaka Yokota), Eastman faculty (including Hans Davidsson, David Higgs, William Porter, and Kerala J Snyder), and the inspector, Harald Vogel. This group has spearheaded the consensus-led decision-making process, and also has helped insure the quality of the project as well as generate a transfer of knowledge toward the current restoration in Vilnius and the broader organ-building world in the United States. This organ will be an integral part of the larger collection of instruments in the Eastman-Rochester Organ Initiative (EROI).

Specifications of the Craighead-Saunders Organ in Christ Church Rochester, modeled after the 1776 Adam Gottlob Casparini organ in Vilnius, Lithuania.
Spellings and capitalizations are according to the original stop labels.


BOURDUN. á 16.
Octava Principal. á 4.
Flaut Travers. á 4.
Super Octava. á 2.
Qvinta. á 5.
Flasch Flot. á 2.
Tertia. á 1 3/5
Mixtura. á 5. Choris.
Trompet. á 8.


IULA. á 8.
Principal Amalel. á 8.
Unda Maris. á 8.
Flaut Major. á 8.
Flaut Minor. á 4.
Spiel Flet. á 4.
Octava. á 2.
Wald Flot. á 2.
Mixtura. á 4. Choris.
Dulcian. á 16.
Vox Humana. á 8.


Principal Bass. á 16.
Violon Bass. á 16.
Full Bass. á 12.
Octava Bass. á 8.
Flaut & Quint Bass. á 8.
Super Octava Bass. á 4.
Posaun Bass. á 16.
Trompet Bass. á 8.


Ventil ad Claviaturam Primam.
Ventil ad Claviaturam Secundum.
Ventil Pedall.
Two tremulants
BEBNY. (Drum)
Vox Campanarum (Glockenspiel)
Gwiazdy. (Cymbelstern)
Kalilujactgo. (Calcant)
Pedal Coupler (Claviatura Prima to Pedal)
Shove Coupler
(Claviatura Secunda to Claviatura Prima)

Hook & Hastings


The E. & G. G. HOOK, OPUS 308, 1862 merged with the E. & G. G. HOOK & HASTINGS, Opus 1573, 1893


To learn more about the Historic American Romantic Hook & Hastings pipe organ at Christ Church, visit the Eastman School of Music's Department of Organ, Sacred Music, and Historical Keyboards website: www.esm.rochester.edu/organ and then link to the "Instrument" webpage.


16’ Double Open Diapason
8’ Open Diapason
8’ Doppel Flute
8’ Viola da Gamba
4’ Octave
3’ Twelfth
2’ Fifteenth
3 rks. Mixture
8’ Trumpet


16’ Bourdon
8’ Violin Diapason
8’ Viola 8’ Stop’d Diapason
4’ Violina
4’ Flauto Traverso
2’ Flautino
8’ Cornopean
8’ Oboe


8’ Geigen Principal
8’ Dulciana
8’ Melodia
4’ Flute d’Amour
2’ Piccolo
8’ Clarinet TC


16’ Open Diapason (wood)
16’ Bourdon
8’ Violoncello
16’ Trombone (W.A. Johnson, 1865)


Great to Pedal Swell to Pedal
Choir to Pedal
Swell to Great
Choir to Great
Swell to Choir
Manual compass: 58 notes
Pedal compass: 27 notes
Detached and reversed console
2 combination pedals
Great to Pedal reversible
Bellows signal
Tracker action with tracker-pneumatic on notes
1-24 of Great and Swell